How Writing a Novel is Like Pac-Man

This is so true! The way to write the best stories is too pour everything you have into them, and see where they take you. You can always revise and edit later, but if you don’t take the first step, you’ll never gets words on the page.

Coffeeshop Pop Blog

Pac-ManSee if this sounds familiar: you’re writing a novel. You have big ideas and really get into the writing process. But your big ideas are really just general plot points and not specific details on how your character gets there. During the process your brain has to come up with thousands of choices about what your protagonist does. At a crossroads do you make him go left or right? Does he take the road less traveled to an exciting and unique adventure, or a safe path toward certain over-done cliché story lines?

I am reminded of one of my favorite video games: PAC-MAN. Pac-Man was MY game as an adolescent. I played it every chance I got. I was hooked I saved, bartered, and even sold every Star Wars action figure just to get quarters so I could play another game of Pac-Man (and am I now terribly regretful I…

View original post 175 more words

Leave a Reply

